Hunter Education Options in Michigan

In Michigan, individuals born on or after January 1, 1960, are required to complete an approved hunter education course to purchase a hunting license. There are four options for completing hunter education:

1. Traditional Classroom-Based Course (Including Field Day)

  • In-person, traditional classroom setting with hands-on training.
  • Minimum of 10 hours over a minimum of two days.
  • Written test (passing score of 80% or better) and practice assessment (pass/fail).
  • Maximum fee of $10.
  • Students under age 10 must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or an adult approved by the parent or legal guardian.

2. Online Course + In-Person Field Day

  • Self-paced online course that includes electronic reading materials and videos.
  • Online portion must be completed before attending a field day.
  • Register for a field day and present the certificate of completion (voucher) of the online course at the start of the field day.

3. Interactive Online Course + In-Person Field Day

  • Self-paced interactive online course with multimedia elements, such as animations and videos.
  • Students must complete the interactive online portion before attending a field day.
  • Register for a field day and present the certificate of completion (voucher) of the interactive course at the start of the field day.

4. Take-Home Study Course + In-Person Field Day

  • Take-home study students must pre-register for a field day and be approved by the instructor.
  • Approved students receive a student manual to read at home.
  • Pick up the manual at least one week before the field day and complete all chapter reviews.
  • Present the chapter reviews to the instructor at the start of the field day.

About the Field Day (Applicable to Options 1, 2, and 3)

  • Minimum duration of 4 hours.
  • Includes a written test (passing score of 80% or better) and a practice assessment (pass/fail).
  • Maximum fee of $10.
  • Students under age 10 must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or an adult approved by the parent or legal guardian.

Non-residents can purchase a Michigan hunting license with a valid hunter education safety certificate from another state.

Sign Up for Huntlink!

Huntlink is a free program that will allow us to send you state regulations to your email for the states you hunt in. The benefits of this are:

1. PDF Format - Downloadable

2. Able to be read with or without reception

3. Delivered right to your email with no ads

And much more!

Disclaimer:

The legal advice provided on Wild Advisor Pro is intended as a summary of the hunting, camping, hiking, and fishing laws and regulations and does not constitute legal language or professional advice. We make every effort to ensure the information is accurate and up to date, but it should not be relied upon as legal authority. For the most current and comprehensive explanation of the laws and regulations, please consult the official government websites or a qualified legal professional. Wild Advisor Pro is not responsible for any misunderstandings or misinterpretations of the information presented and shall not be held liable for any losses, damages, or legal disputes arising from the use of this summary information. Always check with the appropriate governmental authorities for the latest information regarding outdoor regulations and compliance.