License Information & Requirements for Hunters
3 Ways to Buy Your License:
- Get your license immediately at any of our 600 license vendors.
- For a vendor near you, visit: wdfw.wa.gov/licensing/vendors
- Buy online 24 hours a day.
Please Note: Internet and telephone orders may take up to 7-10 business days to deliver your license in the mail.
- License requirements and fees are set by the Washington State Legislature.
- Licenses are based on an April 1-March 31 license year.
- There are no senior citizen discounts on hunting licenses, tags, or permits.
- A "youth" is defined as a resident or non-resident under 16 years of age at the time of license purchase.
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS
- Federal and state law requires persons 15 or older to give their Social Security Number to obtain a license.
- (Federal Law US Code: Title 42, Section 666, Paragraph 13, Section A; and RCW 77.32.014)
DUPLICATE LICENSES & TAGS
- Duplicates can be obtained from license vendors for a cost if hunting license or tag documents are lost, stolen, or destroyed.
- Unlawful purchase or possession of a duplicate license or tag for any purpose other than replacement is a crime.
- Replacement tags may be provided when a hunter has killed an animal unfit for human consumption upon WDFW inspection and authorization.
REFUNDS/EXCHANGES (WAC 220-220-100)
- No refunds for recreational licenses or permits for which a season or hunt has been scheduled.
- No refunds for hunting licenses or transport tags, except as detailed below.
- Exchanges of hunting license documents will not be made after applying for a special permit (Points Option hunts are exempt) or after the hunting season opens.
- Refund available for dealer or system error, wrong license issued within 60 minutes of purchase from a local dealer or any time during the licensing year from WDFW Olympia office.
- Refund available if the licensee qualifies for a reduced fee at the time of issue.
- Refund available for licensees transferred or obligated by the military or their business with verifying documentation within a year of purchase.
- Refund available if the licensee cannot hunt due to injury or health reasons verified by a physician's statement within a year of purchase.
- No refunds for partial licenses.
- Deer and elk transport tags may be exchanged for a different area or weapon type before specific dates.
- Tag issued in error not caused by persons applying for a tag.
VEHICLE ACCESS PASS
- Your Vehicle Access Pass (VAP) is free with the purchase of an annual hunting, fishing, or trapping license. It cannot be purchased separately.
- A Discover Pass is required for access to all State Parks and DNR managed lands, even if you have a VAP.
- 100 percent of your youth donation supports youth outdoor education.
- Donations can be made by phone (1-866-246-9453), online (fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov), or at a vendor near you.
WILD ID NUMBERS
- Think of your WILD ID as your permanent license number.
- It decreases time spent purchasing your license, prevents duplication, increases accuracy of your licenses, and maintains your license and points history.
REQUIRED TO HUNT
- Prior to purchasing their first Washington state hunting license, all individuals born after January 1, 1972, must show proof of completing a hunter education class.
- A one-time deferral option is available.
AGE REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS
- All hunters, regardless of age, must have a valid hunting license and required tags, permits, or stamps to hunt wildlife.
- Youth are eligible for reduced license fees.
EXHIBIT OF LICENSE, PERMITS, STAMPS, TAGS, AND WILDLIFE
- You are required to show a license, tag, permit, or display wildlife taken when asked by a Fish and Wildlife officer or other enforcement officer.
- You must also comply with the directions of WDFW personnel related to the collection of sampling data and/or material from wildlife.
FISH AND WILDLIFE CHECK STATIONS
- Any hunter may be directed to stop at WDFW check stations and produce wildlife in their possession.
- Fish and Wildlife Officers may stop any person involved in a hunting or fishing activity for inspection.
NON-UNITED STATES CITIZENS
- Special regulations concerning firearms possession may apply to non-United States citizens.
- If you are not a United States citizen and plan to hunt with a modern firearm, contact the Washington Department of Licensing or your consulate before purchasing a hunting license.
Please note that licenses, tags, stamps, or permits may be required for wildlife-related activities not covered in this pamphlet.